University School of Jackson

Boys Soccer History

Spring 2013

Mysiewicz named 2013 offensive player of the year

With 26 goals and seven assists during his senior season as a Bruin, Michael Mysiewicz was named The Jackson Sun’s 2013 Boys’ Soccer Offensive Player of the Year. Michael helped lead the Bruins to a finish in the sub-state round of the State Championships. Michael will continue his soccer career on the field for Bethel Univeristy.

All-West Tennessee first team named

Bruins Boys’ Soccer team members Ben Coffman and Hunter Anthony were named to The Jackson Sun’s All-West Tennessee First Team. Receiving an Honorable Mention recognition were Christophe Nabhan, Brandon Conaway, and Troy Smigielski.

Spring 2011


Congratulations to Michael Richards and Michael Mysiewicz who were named to the 2011-2012 All-State team.

Spring 2010

Varsity Boys Players Receive Honors

Hunter Anthony, Will Pierce, and Anthony Micetich were named to the Best of West TN soccer team by the Jackson Sun.

Will Pierce and Anthony Micetich were also named to the Division II A All-State Selection team.

All-Region players were Will Pierce, Anthony Micetich, and Hunter Anthony.

All-District players were Hunter Anthony (MVP), Will Pierce, Anthony Micetich, and Ben Ibach. Coach Chris Leonardi was named All-District Coach.

TACA All-State Team

Thomas McKnight and Danny Smigielski are among four West Tennessee players named to the TACA Boys All-State Team. Thomas McKnight was the only West Tennessee player to make the Tennessee Sports Writers All-State team.

Spring 2009

Senior, Thomas McKnight was named the Jackson Sun's Player of the Year for soccer and the Best of the West Championship Tournament Most Valuable Player. The Bruins won the Best of the West Tournament title for the third time.

Named to the All-West Tennessee soccer team were Bruins Danny Smigielski and Kei Kato.

The boys Varsity soccer ended its 2009 season in the quarterfinals of the Class A-AA state tournament with a loss to Humme-Fogg (1-0) in overtime. The two teams battled to a 0-0 draw through the 80 mintues of regulation play, in which the Bruins had eight shots on goal compared to Humme-Fogg's three. USJ closed its season with a 22-2 record.

The Bruins journey to the state tournament started with a loss to North Side in the District 13 A-AA championship but still advanced to the Region 7 A-AA tournament . Kei Kato, Thomas McKnight, and Tyler Jones were named to the All-District team with McKnight, Jones, and Will Pierce being named to the All-Tournament team. In regional action, the Bruins beat Dyersburg 3-1 in the semifinals to secure their spot in sectional play. The Bruins faced North Side again for the Regional title.

Spring 2008

The boys soccer team advanced to the state tournament after beating Haywood in the sectionals, 5-0. The team finished their season as semi-finalists in the state play-offs.

The team won the region title game 2-0 against North Side. Players selected to the All Region 7 team were Christian Kurth, Scott Metcalf, Thomas McKnight, and Danny Smigielski. Christian was the MVP.The team defeated North Side 1-0 to win the District Championship game. Players selected to the All-District team were Christian Kurth, Kei Kato, and Scott Metcalf. Scott was MVP. The following players made the All Tournament team: Tyler Jones, Thomas McKnight, Christian Kurth, and Scott Metcalf. Christian was MVP.

Contact us today to tour our campus, and see firsthand what the University School of Jackson has to offer.