Football History

2013 Football Awards

2013 Division II-A All-State team: Joseph Patterson, Austin Orr, Eric Arnold, and Mitchell Bodiford.

2013 Division II-A West All-District Team:
Offensive Player of the Year: Austin Orr
Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Joseph Patterson

USJ All-District: Kody Kilburn, Kesley Kirk, Graham Taylor, Hollen Spencer, Mitchell Bodiford, and Eric Arnold.

USJ Honorable Mention All-District: Jacob Denbrock, Chris Stephenson, Austin Campbell, Charlie Hughes, Austin Rogers, Hunter Harrison, Will Cobb, Ben Brauss, Michael Taylor, Easton Underwood, and William Jones.

Jackson Sun All-West Tennessee:
First Team All-West Tennessee Offense:
Austin Orr
First Team All-West Tennessee Defense: Joseph Patterson
Second Team All-West Tennessee Offense: Eric Arnold and Kody Kilburn
Honorable Mention: Ben Brauss, Will Cobb, Jacob Denbrock, and Easton Underwood.

2012 Football Awards

2012 Mr. Football: Chase Hensley, Lineman
2012 Mr. Football Finalist: Powers Spencer, Back

2012 Division II-A and II-AA All-State team: Chase Hensley, Tyler Buckley, Powers Spencer, Ryan Gardner, Austin Orr, Troy Smigielski, Tyler Hardin and Joseph Patterson.

2012 Division II A West All-District Team:
Co-Overall Player of the Year: Powers Spencer
Co-Offensive Player of the Year: Ryan Garner
Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Chase Hensley
Co-Kicker of the Year: Troy Smigielski

USJ All District: Powers Spencer, Ryan Garner, Chase Hensley, Tyler Hardin, Adam Glassman, Tyler Buckley, Austin Orr, Joseph Patterson, Ryan Sanderson, Troy Smigielski, Alex Garey, and Brooks Antwine

USJ Honorable Mention All District: Kyle Clifton, Trace Carlock, Reed Matheny, John Teague, Ben Brauss, Kody Kilburn, and Eric Arnold

USJ Honorable Mention All District: Jacob Denbrock, Chris Stephenson, Austin Campbell, Charlie Hughes, Austin Rogers, Hunter Harrison, Will Cobb, Ben Brauss, Michael Taylor, Easton Underwood, and William Jones

2011 Football Awards

All State: Ryan Garner, Chase Rushing, Lee Mayhall, Adam Boling, Chase Nelson, Chase Hensley, and Grant Mansfield.

Jackson Sun All West Tennessee: Lee Mayhall (Player of the Year), Chase Hensley (Lineman of the Year), Ryan Garner, Chase Rushing, Adam Boling, Matt Wing, Tyler Hardin, Grant Mansfield, Jonathan Cain, and Chase Nelson.

2011 TSSAA Mr. Football Finalists: Back: Lee Mayhall (Toyota East/West All Star Game participant); Defensive Lineman: Chase Hensley

2011 Division II A West All District Team
Player of the Year: Lee Mayhall
Defensive Line MVP: Chase Hensley
Co-Offensive Line MVP: Adam Boling
Co-Offensive MVP: Ryan Garner
Co-Coach of the Year: Mickey Marley

USJ All District: Lee Mayhall, Chase Hensley, Adam Boling, Ryan Garner, Chase Rushing, Matt Wing, Tyler Hardin, Grant Mansfield, Chase Nelson, and Jonathan Cain

2011 State Championship Game

USJ finished its season as state runners-up. With an 11-2 record, the Bruins lost to St. George's in the Division II-A championship game. The Bruins earned the chance at the state title by beating Knoxville Webb, 48-27, in the semifinals. Knoxville Webb had won the last two state championships.

2011 Football Season

2011 State Tournament

Past Seasons

Since 1987, USJ football teams have won 16 District/Region titles, and participated in 64 state playoff games. This includes 5 State Finals, 9 Semi-Finals, and 15 Quarter-Finals.

The 1989 team won the first playoff game in school history. The 1997, 1998, 1999, 2002, 2004 and 2012 teams finished with undefeated regular seasons. The 1993, 1998, 2000, 2009, and 2011 teams advanced to the State Championship Games.

USJ has been represented by 80 All-State players.

The Bruins have had 15 TSSAA State Mr. Football Finalists. Winners include…1993: Urban Garrett, 1998: Tripp Tucker, 2009 & 2010: Jake Overbey, 2012: Chase Hensley.

Former Bruin Star Trey Teague earned All-Southeastern Conference Honors at the University of Tennessee. Trey helped guide UT to the Southeastern Conference Championship in 1997 and was later drafted by the World Champion Denver Broncos.

Overall Team Records

Coach Walter Kilzer: 1987, 1988: (12-10)
Coach Mickey Marley: 1989-2015: (245-91)

All-District/Region Players: (254)

All District/Region Players of the Year (17)

1987: Steve Treadway
1989: Mark Bennett
1990: Trey Teague
1992: Urban Garrett
1993: Urban Garrett
1994: Alex Londe
1997: Tripp Tucker
1998: Tripp Tucker
2000: Franklin Payne
2001: Greg Fay
2002: Will Woods
2004: Ryan Ross
2009: Jake Overbey
2010: Jake Overbey
2011: Lee Mayhall
2012: Powers Spencer

All-District/Region Position Players MVP (25)

1994: Matt Wilson (Def MVP)
1998: Andrew White (Def MVP)
2000: Russell Cook (Def MVP), Russ DeLoach (Off MVP)
2001: Randy Sheffield (Def MVP), Andy Metcalf (Kicker MVP), Russ DeLoach (Punter MVP)
2002: Eric Carruth (Def MVP)
2003: Joseph Dowsley (Def MVP)
2004: Drew Yancey (Off Line)
2005: Will Dement (Punter)
2008: Jake Overbey (Off MVP)
2009: Austin Martindale (Off MVP),Walker McWherter (Def MVP)
2010: Lee Mayhall (Def Hybrid), Adam Boling (Off Line)
2011: Chase Hensley (Def Line), Adam Boling (Off Line Co-MVP), Ryan Garner (Off Co-MVP)
2012: Ryan Garner (Off Co-MVP), Chase Hensley (Def Line Co-MVP), Troy Smigielski (Kicker Co-MVP)
2013: Austin Orr (Off MVP), Joseph Patterson (Def Co-MVP)
2014: Charles Campbell (Kicker MVP)

All-State Players (76)

1987: Eric Bermel
1988: Bart Horton
1991: James Kirkland, Trey Teague
1992: Rob Barham, Urban Garrett, Trey Teague
1993: Bob Forbes, Urban Garrett, James Kirkland
1994: Alex Londe
1995: Dow Davidson
1996: Todd Haltom
1997: Nathan Teague, Tripp Tucker
1998: Charlie Campbell, Lee Hays, Tripp Tucker, Andrew White
1999: Brennan Berg, Chesley Dennison, Russ DeLoach, Franklin Payne
2000: Russell Cook, Andy Metcalf, Franklin Payne, John David Sikes
2001: Russ DeLoach, Greg Fay, Andy Metcalf, Franklin Payne, Jamie Richardson
2002: Nathan Smith, Jace Smith, Will Woods, Adam Warren, Eric Carruth, Joseph Dowsley
2003: Eric Carruth, Joseph Dowsley, Michael Pappis
2004: Ryan Ross, Drew Yancey, John Pappis
2006: George Smith
2007: Danny Smigielski
2008: Jake Overbey and Danny Smigielski
2009: Jake Overbey, Austin Martindale, Matt Weiner, Dhun Sharma, Walker McWherter, Lee Mayhall
2010: Jake Overbey, Lee Mayhall, Powers Spencer
2011: Lee Mayhall, Chase Hensley, Ryan Garner, Chase Rushing, Adam Boling, Chase Nelson, Grant Mansfield
2012: Chase Hensley, Tyler Buckley, Powers Spencer, Ryan Gardner, Austin Orr, Troy Smigielski, Tyler Hardin, Joseph Patterson
2013: Austin Orr, Joseph Patterson, Eric Arnold, Mitchell Bodiford
2014: Ben Brauss, Campbell Carlock, Trey Smith, Michael Taylor